Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to make a polygon from images?

Seffana_
7 - Meteor

Hi, 

Does anyone know any good resources on how someone can make polygons out of images?

I am a complete noob at anything to do with spatials or polygons, and would like some tips and guidance if anyone has anything to offer.

How could one go about making a polygon from the spidey image below, for example? Is this even possible?

spiderman.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Seffana

6 REPLIES 6
WilliamR
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @Seffana_ ,

I am afraid you need some image processing algorithm for that purpose. Are you comfortable with python?

You need first to use some libraries to extract some features of your image (OpenCV is a good starting point): https://www.pyimagesearch.com/2016/02/08/opencv-shape-detection/

After, you will need to convert your new image in shapefile but nothing out of the box I think.

You project is not an easy one...

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

RishiK
Alteryx
Alteryx

@Seffana_ 

I assume you want a way to analyse images?

Have a look at this post:

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Designer-Discussions/Images-analysis-is-possible-in-alteryx...

PhilipMannering
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hey @Seffana_,

The TL;DR is that you cannot with PNGs or JPEGs but might be able to get some semblance of the original image if you use SVGs.