community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.
Upgrade Alteryx Designer in 10 Steps

Debating whether or not to upgrade to the latest version of Alteryx Designer?

LEARN MORE

How to input multiple Named Ranges from multiple Excel files

Hello. Apologies if my question is not completely clear as it is my first time posting here, and thank you in advance for the help. 

I am trying to solve the following problem at the moment: 

1. I have a number of .xlsx files in a single directory on my computer 

2. Each file has multiple (static) named ranges spread across various sheets

3. I need to be able to loop through each named range in each file and pull through the data in order to convert it into a specific format (final goal is to create a normalised dataset built from the data in these named ranges for Tableau to ingest). 

What I have tried so far: 

I have tried to replicate this example that uses a batch macro to read in multiple sheets: 

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Knowledge-Base/How-to-Input-Multiple-Sheets-from-Multiple-E...

In the above, instead of feeding the dynamic input tool with sheet names, I feed it with names of the named ranges (the names, not the Excel ranges) - it works for the first named range and stops after that which seems to indicate that the Action tool is not doing its job. 

Does anyone have thoughts or experience with this? Is there a way to import all named ranges in the same way that one can import all sheets from an Excel file? 

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thank you very much!

Are the named ranges the same in every spreadsheet? If so, you could try something like the following:

1. Use Directory tool to pull in the file names from your specified directory.

2. Use a Text Input tool to list the Named Ranges that you want to pull in from each file.