Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to eliminate a specific word if it is at the beginning of a sentence

rdas040
5 - Atom

In my daily report there is a column "Notes". I want to eliminate all those line items where the comments in the "Notes" starts with "Open Issue". I am new to Alteryx with very limited knowland would really appreciate if anyone can assist me on this. 

7 REPLIES 7
IraWatt
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hey @rdas040,

One way to do this is with the formula tool and a formula like this:

IF StartsWith([Field1], "Open Issue") THEN Substring([Field1],11,Length([Field1])) ELSE [Field1] ENDIF

The formula checks if it starts with Open Issue (case insensitive) if it does then it removes the first 11 characters ("open issue ") else it does not change the text.

IraWatt_0-1662466712809.png

The community has some quick and easy videos on formulas and the Formula Tool here https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Interactive-Lessons/tkb-p/interactive-lessons/label-name/Writing%20...

Any questions or issues please ask

Ira Watt
Technical Consultant
Watt@Bulien.com 

ChrisTX
15 - Aurora

Try a Filter tool, with coding like:

IF StartsWith([Notes],"Open Issue")  then 0

else 1

ENDIF

The 0 represents a Boolean value for False and will send records through the filter tool F output anchor.

Suggestions for beginners:

use the top menu for Learn > Academy > Learning Paths, and Interactive Lessons

List of all functions: https://help.alteryx.com/20221/designer/functions

Chris

DataNath
17 - Castor