Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to delete first 50 columns for input files with different data format?

skotian1289
8 - Asteroid

Hello All,

I am a new user and this is my first time post.

I am trying to build a workflow where i need to delete the first 50 columns of my Input file. My input files will differ everyday and column headers wont be the same or will not be in same alignment  hence the select/deselect field tools is not helping me when i tried because the workflow tried to locate the field name in my next input file.

See below example of what I am trying to say:

Lets say we are trying to build a workflow to delete first 5 columns of input file doesn't matter what the headers are just delete first 5 columns.

Input File 1: 

Column 1Column 2Column 3Column 4Column 5Column 6Column 7Column 8Column 9Column 10Column 11Column 12Column 13Column 14

Output for File 1:

Column 6Column 7Column 8Column 9Column 10Column 11Column 12Column 13Column 14

Input File 2:

Column 7Column 8Column 9Column 10Column 11Column 12Column 13Column 14Column 1Column 2Column 3Column 4Column 5Column 6

Output for file 2:

Column 12Column 13Column 14Column 1Column 2Column 3Column 4Column 5Column 6

Please assist .

Regards

SK

7 REPLIES 7
JosephSerpis
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @skotian1289 I mocked up a workflow let me know what you think?

bhrmitra
10 - Fireball

Hi 

Welcome to the community.

There are a multiple ways to achieve this. I have used a dynamic input in my solution. I hope this is what you wanted. I had posted a solution before also but it did not take into account multiple rows and hence edited it again.

Untitled picture.png