Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to create a moving average without using the multi-row tool for each field?

jasonhopkins
5 - Atom

I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction regarding the question I have above.  I am pretty new to Alteryx, as in, I have been using it for maybe three days now.  My role in the company is a system admin, so I am usually setting servers and applications up and seldomly using them.  Alteryx is an exception as I find the tool to be pretty amazing and attending Inspire a few weeks ago has me pretty amped up right now.  In the past three days I have already used it to create some Tableau extracts that I would have had no idea how to do using Excel.

Now for my problem.  I have been asked to find a way to create a running average for multiple columns worth of data.  As a test, I have built out 5 columns, each with maybe 20 rows of numbers.  I can use the multi-row formula tool but that only works for one field at a time.  When I research this tool, it specifically has a note that you need one of these tools for every field.  For my test, this is no biggie, but this doesn't work for production as we need to create a moving average on more than 5000 columns of data.  Could you imagine doing that by hand?

I did get my hands on a moving summarize macro that's much better than doing it by hand but copying and pasting 5000 of those in one work flow is still less than enticing.

I am going to include my work flow using the macro and I was hoping someone could tell me a quicker way to make this work with 5000 columns.

Thanks for any insight you might be able to offer.

7 REPLIES 7
DultonM
11 - Bolide

Hi Jason!