Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to create a moving average without using the multi-row tool for each field?

jasonhopkins
5 - Atom

I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction regarding the question I have above.  I am pretty new to Alteryx, as in, I have been using it for maybe three days now.  My role in the company is a system admin, so I am usually setting servers and applications up and seldomly using them.  Alteryx is an exception as I find the tool to be pretty amazing and attending Inspire a few weeks ago has me pretty amped up right now.  In the past three days I have already used it to create some Tableau extracts that I would have had no idea how to do using Excel.

Now for my problem.  I have been asked to find a way to create a running average for multiple columns worth of data.  As a test, I have built out 5 columns, each with maybe 20 rows of numbers.  I can use the multi-row formula tool but that only works for one field at a time.  When I research this tool, it specifically has a note that you need one of these tools for every field.  For my test, this is no biggie, but this doesn't work for production as we need to create a moving average on more than 5000 columns of data.  Could you imagine doing that by hand?

I did get my hands on a moving summarize macro that's much better than doing it by hand but copying and pasting 5000 of those in one work flow is still less than enticing.

I am going to include my work flow using the macro and I was hoping someone could tell me a quicker way to make this work with 5000 columns.

Thanks for any insight you might be able to offer.

7 REPLIES 7
DultonM
11 - Bolide

Hi Jason!