Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to change the default output path?

Nethaji_5
7 - Meteor

Hello All,

I'm a newbie in Alteryx.

I have two folders "Input and Output" in my file explorer. I'm trying to get the input dynamically from the input folder and split the data into the output folder.

But Alteryx saved the file in the default bin folder, please provide me the solution to save the file in my Output folder.

Also attached the workflow for reference, please provide me the solution to resolve this issue.

Alteryx Workflow:

Nethaji_5_0-1602681775898.png

Folder Structure:

Nethaji_5_1-1602681856808.png

Data Set:

Nethaji_5_2-1602681899154.png

Thanks,

Nethaji

11 REPLIES 11
atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @Nethaji_5 

This is really strange it should not happen.

Can you move the files to desktop and try

Additionally, Here is a sample file can save it on desktop and run it and tell where the output file is creates.

I will help you troubleshoot 🙂

atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @Nethaji_5 

I have modified your workflow only i wont be able to run since i dont have the folder.

Output:

atcodedog05_0-1602682653426.png

It might be caused because of name field you might want to check the name column loaded to formula tool.

Hope this helps🙂

Nethaji_5
7 - Meteor

Hi @atcodedog05

I'm seeing the same result even after saved the folder on the desktop.  The input file name may change in the future that is the reason I used the dynamic input tool to load the data. 

I'm really curious about how the Alteryx works. I need to store the split output in the output folder. Please LMK if you have any suggestions. 

Nethaji_5_1-1602683329922.png

atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @Nethaji_5