community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.
Upgrade Alteryx Designer in 10 Steps

Debating whether or not to upgrade to the latest version of Alteryx Designer?

LEARN MORE
Alteryx Gallery is experiencing a problem in which system emails are not being sent out. As a result, if you are attempting to sign up for a new account, you may be unable to verify your email address. We are working to solve this as soon as possible and will remove this notice once resolved.
SOLVED

How do you clear the File>>Open Recent folder so it shows no workflows?

Alteryx Certified Partner

I have cleared the Open AutoSaved Files, but want to clear the workflows that are presented in the Open Recent folder too. I am not sure if this is done in a file on the backend or in the application.

Open Recent.PNG

 

Thanks in Advance!

 

Highlighted
Alteryx Certified Partner
Alteryx Certified Partner

@stanherring72,

 

Alteryx uses Windows Recent Files Directory for this feature:

 

C:\Users\[markf]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent

It takes the .yxmd, .yxmc, .yxwz files from that directory.

 

Cheers,

Mark

Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and reboot. Order shall return.
Alteryx Certified Partner

I am on a Microsoft Server 2012 R2 OS and there are no files in these location you stated below. I do have workflows in the Open Recent tab in Alteryx Designer. Is the Open Recent pulling from a different location with this OS? Screenshot below:

Small_Logo.png

 

Alteryx Certified Partner

 

Here are the steps to remove Open Recent Workflows:

1) Select File>>Open Recent>>Select the workflow you want to delete.

2) If window appears that is below then select Yes. If Workflow opens, select File>>Save As>>Browse

Remove Recent Workflow.png

3) You should see the workflow and where it is located.
4) Close the workflow in Alteryx Designer.
5) Delete the workflow in File Explorer and repeat steps 1-2 to make sure the Window appears and select Yes to remove this workflow from Open Recent.
6) Delete Workflows from Recycle Bin also.

Is there an easy and best way to clean the recent history in 1 shot ?

Labels