Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How can we loop through and extract multiple tables and load into a different database?

Stevemcdonald
6 - Meteoroid

Hi,

I am very new to Alteryx therefore please accept my apologies if this has already been answered, I have not however been able to find anything on this excellent community that gives me the answer or guidance I need.

My question is this:

How can I cycle through a list of table names from a list (say in Excel) which represent the table names within a source database, and subsequently create a corresponding table in a different, target database? I have over 100 tables within the list and is therefore far too cumbersome to create individual inputs for each table.

e.g. I have a list of table names which I need to pull through to a target database (held in excel) - example file attached.

Table1

Table2

Table3

I need to create a corresponding table, with a prefix and suffix attached to each table name ("SRC_" and "_EBS") respectively, within a different target database.

e.g. 

Target Database Corresponding Table Names

SRC_Table1_EBS

SRC_Table2_EBS

SRC_Table3_EBS

Many thanks in advance for any answers and guidance.

Steve

11 REPLIES 11
LordNeilLord
15 - Aurora

Hey @Stevemcdonald

You can use a batch macro to achieve this....

Inside the macro you use the dynamic input to download the table, then create the new table name and finally write back out to your new database

SQLBatch.PNG

Outside of the macro, you connect up your list of tables...add a recordID and then use this to control the batch (so it does one at a time)

SQLBatch2.PNG

I've mocked you up an example using Access but I tested it using SQL sever and it works just fine :)

@LordNeilLord

Part time Tableau, Part Time Alteryx. Full Time Awesome

Data Lover

jrgo
14 - Magnetar

Hi @Stevemcdonald,