Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How can I sort a column based on the values of a different column?

cfranco
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Team,

I'm new to Alteryx and was wondering how can I sort a column based on the values of a different column?

For example, sort the Brand column descending based on the values in the Sales column.

5 REPLIES 5
cfranco
6 - Meteoroid
RodL,

Below is an example of what I am looking. Kind of like sorting a Pivot Table in Excel. You can sort a column based on numbers in the value fields.

Original

Brand

Item

Sales

A

Itm 1

$ 50.00

A

Itm 2

$ 10.00

B

Itm 3

$ 100.00

B

Itm 4

$ 25.00

C

Itm 5

$ 75.00

Outcome

Brand

Item

Sales

B

Itm 3

$ 100.00

B

Itm 4

$ 25.00

C

Itm 5

$ 75.00

A

Itm 1

$ 50.00

A

Itm 2

$ 10.00

Regards,

Carlos

The information contained in this electronic mail message, including attachments, if any, is PetSmart confidential information. It is intended only for the use of the person(s) named above. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, or has received this message in error, you are hereby notified that any review, dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient or have received this message in error, please notify the sender via e-mail and promptly delete the original message.
#####################################################################################
RodL
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Not sure I'm understanding the total question.

If you are asking that WITHIN the Brand column you want to sort on Sales, you can just use a Sort tool with Brand as the first sort, and Sales as the second sort.