Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How can I retain an existing Excel formula

carl_steinhilber
8 - Asteroid

I have a Master Excel workbook. It already has rows of data. One of the columns is an Excel formula based on other cell values in the same row.

We use this workbook throughout the week, making live updates in which that Excel formula is critical.

But then, at the end of every week, we receive a separate .csv of data that contains updates to the master data. Some rows are added, some rows are updated, and some rows are simply duplicates of rows already in the Master workbook.

I'm trying to use Alteryx to open both data sources, and merge the new data into the Master, update and dedupe, then resave the Master workbook.

The problem is, I can't seem to retain the existing Excel formula. It's either wiped out, or it's saved as a string.

Is there a way to keep (or even rewrite) the Excel formula in that column so it's a dynamic calculation when saving back out to the Master workbook?

I've found some references in other posts that writing the formula as a string and then saving the file as .csv solves the problem, but a) that's not really an option in our environment, and b) I tested it and it didn't work anyway.

Any other ideas?

Thanks!

-Carl

6 REPLIES 6
kat
12 - Quasar

Hi @carl_steinhilber

Alteryx wouldn't be able to deal with the formulas. I also think that most workarounds would be very clunky and not maintainable.

Whenever I'm faced with a situation in which I need to retain parts of an Excel workbook, I just create a data tab in the workbook and output my data there. Then use formulas to reference this. Works quite well. You can also go a step further and use commands to save the workbook with a new name (i.e. changing the date) before you write your data.

Hope this helps.

Kat

carl_steinhilber
8 - Asteroid

Thanks kat,