Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How can I read 1st line of a text file and save a value from it in a variable?

pratikpj
5 - Atom

Hello Community,

I am new to Alteryx. I am trying to find a tool to perform this action. What I am trying to achieve is given below:

I am reading a text file. In that text file, 1st row has just 2 words. 1st word indicates the variable identifier and the 2nd word indicates the value. Headers and data start appearing from Next row onwards.

Example:

[Vehicle Type]: [Camry]

VIN     Ext Color     Int Color     Model Year

123     Blue             Black         2018

In above example, I am able to read data from line #2 onwards as per my expectations however I also want to read 1st row as a field and in my output, I would like to put that as an additional column. So, what I would like to get an output is as below:

[Vehicle Type]: [Camry]

VIN     Ext Color     Int Color     Model Year     Vehicle Type

123     Blue             Black         2018                Camry

Can someone please assist?

Thanks,

Pratik

7 REPLIES 7
CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

@pratikpj

Welcome to Alteryx! I hope this example showcases capabilities that will solve your question. In the future, I recommend you provide a sample input file whenever possible so that we can make sure that any suggestion provided really works for your situation.

That being said, I made an example input file and used a few tools that will be useful in this scenario. I started with two Sample tools to isolate the "first row" and "not the first row" to handle those data layouts differently. Take a look at my solution and let me know if you have any questions.

pratikpj
5 - Atom

@CharlieS