Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How To Setup Alteryx Connector for Brightcove Video Data Download

JohnRog
5 - Atom

Thank you all for your posts they have been extremely helpful. I am very new to Alteryx and so some of the terminology can be a little confusing.

Here is what I am trying to do:

I am trying to setup a connector to Brightcove.

Brightcove It uses OAuth2 and utilizes a basic authorization process. However, I am a little confused as to what they are asking.

Are they saying that I should first use the "text input" tool connect and get authorization? Then set up a second "Text Input" tool one in the workflow to request the data?

Thanks for your help.

4 REPLIES 4
BrandonB
Alteryx
Alteryx

The idea is to first create a Client ID and Client Secret using the steps found here: https://apis.support.brightcove.com/general/managing-api-authentication-credentials.html

This is like a "login" for your process. 

Then when it refers to "Basic" authentication, this has to do with how it sends the information to the API. This outlines the actual process for using the Client ID and Secret to get the access token: https://apis.support.brightcove.com/oauth/guides/getting-access-tokens.html

Once you have your credentials, you obtain an access token by making a POST request to:

https://oauth.brightcove.com/v4/access_token

You must pass the following headers with this call:

• Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
  • Authorization: Basic {client_id}:{client_secret}

What this means is that you need to put your Client ID and Client Secret into a string separated by a colon.

Like ClientID:ClientSecret