Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How To Output a Zip File using Alteryx

brianvtran
7 - Meteor

Does anyone know how to compress a file using Alteryx? I am currently writing them as .csv but I was hoping to add an additional step to compress the file as well. 

I tried looking through the community and there have been suggestions of using a batch file through Run Command but I keep getting an error 1 so there must be something wrong with the batch file I'm creating. 

The batch file I have been attempting to create looks like this: 

"C:\Program Files\7-Zip"

7z a -tzip "Folder to store zip file" "folder to retrieve file to zip" 

this is my first time writing a batch file, so I honestly don't even know if I'm formatting it correctly. 

It's my first time using Run Command as well so I am a bit confused about the way to read the configuration options especially with the Write Source option. Am I supposed to have Write Source output it as a .csv file within Run Command and then will Run External Program with my own batch file zip the csv file? Do I do anything to the Read Results window? I was trying to look for saving it as a zip file within Write Source, but it doesn't have that as an option for File Format. 

Any suggestions would be appreciated,

Brian

3 REPLIES 3
markcurry
12 - Quasar

Hi @brianvtran 

If Alteryx is creating the .bat file for you, you can run this from a command prompt which should hopefully show you what's the error you are getting.  Or you can add a 'pause' line at the end of the batch file, which will keep the command window open.

I don't think the batch file you have will work, you can't have a line "C:\Program Files\7-Zip" you, have to have this a two separate lines :