Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.

Help with the formula and summarise tools - Analysing data

Highlighted
5 - Atom

I’m a beginner at Alteryx and I’m struggling to google the right keywords to help me with what I’m trying to do, so I’m hoping I can get help here (apologies if similar questions have already been asked). I think it should be quite straightforward but I can’t figure it out! 

I’ve given an example table below: 

Sampanache_0-1590046365087.png

The first step I want to, is group results by Agree (= Agree + Strongly Agree) and Disagree (= Disagree + Strongly disagree) 

Following that, I would like to have the results broken down by each product - so the final result would look something like this below:

Sampanache_1-1590046365093.png

Just knowing the language behind what I am trying to do would be really helpful as it will allow me to search for help, because at the moment I am struggling to find the guidance I need.

Thanks!

Highlighted
13 - Pulsar

Hi @Sampanache,

I'd first use the Multi-Field Formula to "group" (it's more a simplifying) your data:

grossal_1-1590048149970.png

IF Contains([_CurrentField_],'disagree')
THEN 'Disagree'
ELSE 'Agree'
ENDIF

The result looks like this:

grossal_0-1590047871938.png

I am not quite sure how want the % to be done. I can't see a link between your sample data and sample result. Could you explain it? Or does your real data contain multiple data rows for each product? 

Best

Alex

Highlighted
15 - Aurora

Here's how I would approach it.

DavidP_0-1590054589314.png

Highlighted
5 - Atom

Hi @grossal , thanks for your help.