Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Help with Regex syntax

lmaughan
7 - Meteor

I am a newbie to Regex and need to know if it is possible to search for a text string and then return X number of characters AFTER the string (not the string itself).  Is that possible to do in Regex?

Here are the details.

Example text stored in a single field:

Performance Obligation Line Item: ROY SUB - Memo Line: - Revenue Rule Name: IMMEDIATE - Revenue Contract Number: 350123 - Performance Obligation Number: 987654 - Performance Obligation Line Number: 1 Source Document Number: 7650008446 - So

The data I want to parse out is the number after "Source Document Number:"

Is Regex capable of searching for "Source Document Number:" and then returning the data AFTER "Source Document Number"?  I am looking to get the result of "7650008446 ".

Thanks in advance for your help on this. 🙂

8 REPLIES 8
TerryT
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Is the X number of characters fixed, or do you expect to control it externally?

The simple case could boil down to:

TerryT_0-1599753249597.png

vizAlter
12 - Quasar

Hi @lmaughan — You can do it by using "RegEx" tool from "Parse" ribbon tab

Use "Tokenize" for the Output Method:

(?!.*\Source Document Number:\s)\d+

vizAlter_0-1599754888485.png

If it resolves your query Please mark it "Solved" or "Solved" with a Like. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution.  Thank you.

lmaughan
7 - Meteor

i am not getting any results, could you please check my syntax to ensure I have it correctly entered? RegExout1 column is all null.

I am assuming the {.10} specifies the number of characters to parse after the Source Document Number: