Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Help accessing OpenFIGI API

craigja
8 - Asteroid

Hi folks,

Im trying to get something working so I can query OpenFIGI API (https://www.openfigi.com/api#post-v2-search) and pass in an ISIN code and get the security description and a few other fields back.

Have to admit to being a complete newb here - I did follow https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Engine-Works-Blog/REST-API-In-5-Minutes-No-Coding/ba-p/8137 and managed to get that to work but have no idea what Im doing with OpenFIGI API!

Can anybody take a look at the documentation and help me out? At this point Im just replicating the workflow in the example above, with text input and the download tool.  I assume it should be set to get and not post but the documentation mentions POST /v2/mapping so am now sure - basically Im lost....

6 REPLIES 6
craigja
8 - Asteroid

this is from the documentation where it mentions ISIN:

Value Description

ID_ISIN

ISIN - International Securities Identification Number.

Example:

[{"idType":"ID_ISIN","idValue":"XX1234567890"}]
danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi there @craigja 

I was able to successfully query the OpenFIGI API using the following config in the Download tool.

Config.png

I added the Content-Type to the Headers tab and modified the Payload tab to a Http Action ="POST"and Selected the Take Query String/Body from field with the field "type," resulting in 

Results.png

Dan

craigja
8 - Asteroid

Excellent - thats shown me exactly what I need to do!  Thanks so much

craigja
8 - Asteroid

If I wanted to parameter this how would I do it?  I tried as in the screenshot but I get this error: Request body must be a JSON array.

craigja
8 - Asteroid

never included the image!

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @craigja