Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

HELP!!! I'm studying for the 2nd exam for certification - DateTime Functions

jjimenez
8 - Asteroid

Hello,

I'm studying for the 2nd exam in Alteryx and I'm having difficulty understanding why the 2nd example in DateTime Tool Examples must be formatted the way the solutions has provided. 

Date:                                            DateTime_Out

01/01/2019 12:34:15                    2019-01-01 12:34

I'm having a difficult time understanding why the solutions to get Date and Time in the chosen format would be MM/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss and not yyyy-MM-dd hh:mm:ss. The option the practice test chose doesn't even fit the outcome we're suppose to get. 

I've looked all over to get an explanation, but can't find one. 

If anyone can shed some light on this reasoning, I would be greatly appreciative. 

jjimenez_1-1664108637265.png

4 REPLIES 4
Felipe_Ribeir0
16 - Nebula

Hi @jjimenez ,

The default format for datetime fields in Alteryx is yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm:ss. So, In this tool you are selecting the format of your input (string dd/mm/yyyy hh:mm:ss), so Alteryx can know what it needs to convert to the default datetime yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm:ss. 

Using other words, the yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm:ss format is implicit as the default format for the output of this tool/configuration. You are converting a string to the default datetime that Alteryx uses.

Felipe_Ribeir0_0-1664110787045.png

If you still with doubts, let us know.

If the provided answer helped you to solve the problem/was correct, please accept it as a solution :)

Thanks.

Emmanuel_G
13 - Pulsar

@jjimenez 

In the tool, you have the choice to convert a string to a date or a date to a string. Keep in mind that when alteryx recognizes a dateTime, the default format is yyyy-MM-dd hh:mm:ss.