Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Grouping Logic

czjames87
8 - Asteroid

I am relatively new to Alteryx and would really appreciate some help with the problem I am having with the attached workflow. I am attempting to find and replace the customer name in the destination name column with a group name in the group_name column. However, I need a formula that allows for the destination name to remain the same if the customer name listed in the destination_name column is not one listed in the grouping logic column. Essentially, I want the logic to say "if destination_name is in grouping name column then use group name if not use destination_name". Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

8 REPLIES 8
DavidP
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @czjames87 can you please post an example of the Destination name column. We can't see it because of the failed database connection in the Dynamic Input Tool.

czjames87
8 - Asteroid

czjames87_0-1597362833443.png

The quotes have been removed with a data cleansing tool along with any whitespace

czjames87
8 - Asteroid

sorry about that. here is the destination name column example 

czjames87_0-1597362983256.png

DavidP
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @czjames87 

Can you please mock up an example in Excel that shows 5-10 rows of data with the columns Group Logic and Group Name in one set and Destination Name in another and a final Column Desired Output next to Destination Name.

Then mock up some data to represent the different scenarios you want covered and what the resultant output should be.

Hopefully we can then better understand the problem and come up with a solution.

BrianR
Alteryx
Alteryx