Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

GeoCodio Batch API / Macro

EW
11 - Bolide

I've been using GeoCodio's API to geocode addresses in Alteryx.  I've even made a little macro for it, even though I'm fairly new at both Alteryx macros and APIs.  It works so far, but I'd like to speed it up by switching to the batch address API.  

I'm not sure how to format the URL in Alteryx to include multiple addresses.  I've been trying to figure it out from the GeoCodio Documentation and Googling but I haven't made headway so far.  I'm very much a beginner with using APIs.

Is anyone else using GeoCodio's batch geocoding API in Alteryx successfully?  Or familiar enough in general to point me in the right direction?  Any help is greatly appreciated!  

I'm attaching my single address URL macro for the GeoCodio API.  Note that it requires an API key to use, which are free for their starter tier.  Below is the macro workflow with the single address API URL shown.

GeoCodio API with Formula.PNG

14 REPLIES 14
hellyars
13 - Pulsar

@EW  Take this with a grain of salt (I know nothing about APIs or POST requests), but I had some success using the API Batch Geocoding instructions and specifically the Jason Array example. 

I used two fields  URL and Data.  

In the Download tool under the Basic tab I set URL to URL and under the Payload tab I set Action to POST and set the tool to take the values from my Data field.

https://api.geocod.io/v1.7/geocode?q=1109+N+Highland+St%2c+Arlington+VA&fields=cd117&api_key=Your_API_KEY
curl -X POST \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \