Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

GeoCodio Batch API / Macro

EW
11 - Bolide

I've been using GeoCodio's API to geocode addresses in Alteryx.  I've even made a little macro for it, even though I'm fairly new at both Alteryx macros and APIs.  It works so far, but I'd like to speed it up by switching to the batch address API.  

I'm not sure how to format the URL in Alteryx to include multiple addresses.  I've been trying to figure it out from the GeoCodio Documentation and Googling but I haven't made headway so far.  I'm very much a beginner with using APIs.

Is anyone else using GeoCodio's batch geocoding API in Alteryx successfully?  Or familiar enough in general to point me in the right direction?  Any help is greatly appreciated!  

I'm attaching my single address URL macro for the GeoCodio API.  Note that it requires an API key to use, which are free for their starter tier.  Below is the macro workflow with the single address API URL shown.

GeoCodio API with Formula.PNG

14 REPLIES 14
Luke_C
17 - Castor

Hi @EW 

Based on the documentation, you wouldn't send the data in the URL. You would instead send it as a payload through the download tool. It accepts a few formats. This could be accomplished mainly through the summarize tool & json build tool.

Can you provide a few sample records? I only see one in the attachment.

Luke_C_0-1652115645266.png

EW
11 - Bolide

Thank you @Luke_C!  I'm attaching an updated version of my example file with three addresses.

I'm not familiar with composing payloads for the download tool, I'll need to see if I can figure that out.  But your answer definitely points me in the right direction!  

Luke_C
17 - Castor

Hi @EW 

Here's something that will get you going in the right direction. JSON can be tricky so let us know if you run into any issues.

Luke_C_0-1652121553003.png

EW
11 - Bolide