Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Formula Tool | Referencing Other Streams in Workflow

JBO
8 - Asteroid

Can I reference another stream in my workflow using the Formula tool?

I would like to compare the values in a column from the L stream of a Join to the list of values from a summary of the J stream of the Join. If there is a match, I would like a "Y" put in a new column of the L stream. If no match, then an "N" put in the new column of the L stream. Please see attached. Below is my attempt at portraying the logic.

IF [L stream col] = [any of the values in J stream col] THEN "Y" ELSE "N" ENDIF

Disclaimer: I am fairly new to Alteryx. Go easy on me. Thanks.

2 REPLIES 2
david_fetters
11 - Bolide

Hey JBO, for your purposes, the formula tool can only consider fields on the same row of your data stream.  Comparing your data stream fileds to results from a summary tool is not an uncommon practice if, say, you wanted to flag values over or under the mean.

To do this, either append or join (depending on whether there is only one row of summary data, or multiple rows grouped on some value) your summary data onto your other data stream using the Append or Join tool.  Then every row will have access to those fields and you can use the formula field as normal.  Alteryx will take care of making sure things get there on time.

Tip: Make sure the S input on the append tool has fewer records coming into it than the T input, so in this case it would likely be your summary tool outputting into the S input of the append tool.

Make sense?  Keep trucking, you're doing great!

Edit: I thought about it a little more, and in your use case you could take one of two approaches.