Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Formula/Tool For Searching a Match Between Date Ranges for Active Memberships

Drospeed
5 - Atom

Hello All! 

New to the community! I am hoping to contribute and learn as I go. 

I am relatively new to Alteryx, but continue to get a stronger grasp with it.

I have a data set with company transaction data and another with a historical record of customer memberships. Please see sample data set below. Would like to add a column to my transaction data that determines if that specific customer had an active agreement at the time of the transaction. The link between the two tables is Customer ID. 

Transaction Table

Customer IDBusiness UnitLocationDateTransaction Amount $Active Agreement at time of Transaction
1111Phonesxx2010-5-10300Yes
1223Headphonesxx2017-1-1200Yes
1111Computerxx2013-1-11000No
1223Cablesxx2018-1-1150Yes

Membership Table

Customer IDMembership TypeMembership StartMembership End
1111A2009-1-202010-5-5
1111B2010-1-22012-12-1
1111C2014-4-142020-1-1
1223A2017-1-12017-5-1
1223B2014-1-12025-1-1

Goal

-My goal is to use a formula/tool  that can go find the specific customer in the membership table then 1) See all memberships and return a "Yes" if the specific transaction falls within(includes the start and end dates of any applicable membership a customer has ever had. If that specific customer is 1) not found or 2) the transaction occurs outside the ranges of memberships it returns a "No"