Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

First time user student question - summary results discrepancy

MarcParrish
5 - Atom

Hello! I'm a student using Alteryx for the first time. I was given the very simple task of uploading a set of sample data from excel and using the browse icon to display summary data, on the left hand side. The problem: my summary data is not matching my professor's, even though I know I am using the correct source file. That file is attached, a publicly available document of 77,001 Oklahoma State University Credit card charges. Alteryx shows all 77,001 lines of data were inputted (bottom window), but after running browse, it only summarizes the data from 14,318 lines. I've attached a screenshot of what I see in Alteryx. Even more confusingly, the summary data on the left shows the same number of records displayed as my instructor: 750,329 Any idea what I'm doing wrong here? Thank you for any insight!

Alteryx Screenshot.JPG

5 REPLIES 5
AshleyL
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @MarcParrish -

Are you able to send this over as a packaged workflow? To send a packaged workflow go to Options -- Export Workflow.

I'm not able to recreate your issue when I try to input the data myself. The one thing I do notice that's different is that in both your browse and results window, the bars below the field names are fully green, even though you have a lot of nulls (which should make it more yellow -- see photo).

Browse.PNG

Best,

Ashley

MarcParrish
5 - Atom

Thanks for the quick response! I should have included that. Please see attached.

Best,

Marc

AshleyL
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hey @MarcParrish --