Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Finding the minimum value across multiple columns

jakechan
5 - Atom

Hello 

I'm new to alteryx and I'm hoping there's a simple answer to this 

I want to find the minimum value across a row, for example 

Col 1Col 2Col 3Col 4Col 5Col 6Col 7Col 8Col 9Col 10Minimum Value
A1  3 4  4 1
B  22       22
C     3 2  2
D   22    3 3
E       2  2
F   3  3   3
G     2  2 2
H   3     333

And I want to create that last minimum value column in alteryx.

One way I could do this is with a formula MIN(Col 1 + Col 2 etc..), however I have too many columns to individually type out. Is there another way I can do this? Or more broadly, how can I write a formula that say "from Col X to Col Y". The excel version would be MIN(Col 1:Col 10)

Thank you! 

14 REPLIES 14
LordNeilLord
15 - Aurora

Hey @jakechan 

The easiest way to do this will be to transpose your data grouping on your ID (A,B etc) then use summarize (group by ID, min of value)

Then you can join this result back to your original table.

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @jakechan 

Here's a workflow to illustrate what @LordNeilLord described in his response.

W.png

Start by cleaning the data and adding a RecordID in case the Label column in your real data ins't unique.  Transpose the value columns so they end up in a pair of columns, Name which holds the column name and Value which holds the values.  The Summarize tool finds the minimum value for each RecordID.  Join this column back to your main data on RecordID and you have your results

r.png

Dan

Dazzerman
11 - Bolide

Hi Jakechan,

Here is another way to achieve your results.

Jakechan_query.jpg

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @Dazzerman 

You have a good solution, but in general it's better to join back to the original data, if you can, as opposed to using a crosstab to rebuild it.