Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.
Alteryx is here to help you solve your biggest data challenges. Read about the new Virtual Solution Center here.

Filling a schedule based on several criteria

Highlighted
5 - Atom

Hi,

I am new to Alteryx. Have never used it, haven't even downloaded it yet. I work as a scheduler for a Minor Sports Association. This past year was my first year doing this job. I managed it with a Google spreadsheet. Actually about 8 sheets that essentially made a web app that aided me in building the schedule. I'm wondering if Alteryx might be a better tool for me but its hard to search for how to fill a schedule when "Scheduling" is a big part of this program. 

So here is the basic flow of what I need to do with my data.

1) I start with a base list of all the ice time (its a hockey association) that we have for the season. It's about 300 slots booked over 7 months. The slots are anywhere from an hour long to 12 hours long. I call this list my Master Schedule, it is its own sheet.

2) From the Master schedule I need to break each slot into 15 minute segments. I did this in a second tab in the same workbook. I created a formula that worked through the master schedule and broke each slot into 15 min segments in chronological order. This turns 300 rows in the master schedule into 7000 rows in what I call my working schedule.

3) Now that I have my slots broken down into something I can work with I have to manually go through the 7000 rows and break the slots into blocks that the teams can use for games or practices. At the beginning of the season our association needs to offer a certain amount of game slots to our league each week so I go trough the working schedule and slot those game slots in first and then create a filter in another spreadsheet that references my working schedule so I can send the report to the league.