Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Fill Fields Based on Previous Field

lp_hall
8 - Asteroid

Hello,

Total noob to Alteryx, this is my first workflow. I am looking for a way to fill fields to the right of the current field that is based on the current field.

In the attached sample data, you'll notice that the column headers are a combination of blanks (beginning with F) and Categories (A through H). Starting with Category A, moving to the right, I want fields 'Category A' through 'F21' to be filled with 'Category A'. Similarly, I want 'Category B' through 'F41' to be filled with 'Category B', etc.

I imagine I would have to do some kind of transpose, then some kind of fill command, then a cross tab tool to get it back into column/field form.

Additionally, after the fill has been applied, it would be great if ascending numbers could be assigned to the newly filled fields. i.e. CategoryA1, Category A2... Category B1, Category B2, etc. See the attached file titled 'FieldNames' for a complete list.

I realize that what I'm trying to accomplish can be done with a text input file, however I need the solution to be dynamic in the sense that in other examples of the input data, there may be more categories, and there may be more instances of each category. For example, some only go to 19 in this data set. However, other input data sets may go to 29, 30, 31, etc. They represent days in the month.

Thanks in advance to anyone who is able to help!

8 REPLIES 8
AustinM
5 - Atom

Hello,

I gave this a quick try and came up with this solution. I'm sure there is a more brilliant method but i believe i achieved what you were looking for.

Let me know if this helped.

Thanks,

Austin

Maskell_Rascal
13 - Pulsar