Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Extracting Rooftop aerial imagery using Alteryx

DMI10000
7 - Meteor

Hi all,

I am new to working with spatial data. Still, I am trying to build a model to extract the rooftop aerial imagery of houses in Auckland (New Zealand) so I can perform image classification.  

I am having a hard time figuring out how to extract the images so I do not have to focus on the vegetation but just the rooftops.

The first link below gives an example of aerial imagery while the second link maps the aerial imagery with the outline. Now, I am interested in the jpg image of the rooftop for my classification.

link 1: https://data.linz.govt.nz/layer/95497-auckland-0075m-urban-aerial-photos-2017/

link 2: https://data.linz.govt.nz/layer/101290-nz-building-outlines/

Please any workflow or help will be appreciated. Any questions, I am happy to furnish with more clarity.

BTW, the images can all be downloaded free. For downloads above 15GB, you just need to reduce the resolution to 1/4. 

Thanks.

David

10 REPLIES 10
Ben_H
11 - Bolide

Hi @DMI10000 ,

My understanding here is that you want to use the building outlines to clip the aerial photography so you're left with just the rooftop images is that right?

If that's the case I don't think Alteryx is exactly suited to that straight out of the box, though I'm pretty sure you could do it with Python.

It would be a much simpler operation in a GIS tool like ArcGIS (or QGIS if you wanted a free alternative)

I might have misunderstood the requirement though so let me know if that's the case!

Regards,

Ben

DMI10000
7 - Meteor

Hi Ben,

Thanks for your reply, and you are actually spot on regarding my request. Though I have not used QGIS before nor am I familiar with GIS. I am looking to using the images to determine the roof conditions of houses using a classification method.