Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Exception Reporting

raychase
11 - Bolide

Hello,

I have a master data source that contains records from many different companies (~20).  I would like to set up some exception reporting on this master file.

For example, if Field 1 or Field 2 or Field 3 is empty, then give me that entire row of data, as it needs to be completed.

Once I have a list of all records with incomplete data, I want to filter it by company name.

Once I have the data separated by company names, I'd like to send an excel output of the incomplete data to the designated data steward for that particular company.

I know I can do this in a very tedious and manual fashion (ie. 20 filter tools, 20 output tools, 20 email tools with the output as attachment).

Is there a better way to do this?

As as aside - what if some companies have sub-companies, and I want to include the sub-companies on separate sheets within the excel output for that particular parent company?

Thanks in advance for any help!

14 REPLIES 14
cmcclellan
13 - Pulsar

You should be able to do this with only a few tools (~5).

Can you supply some sample/dummy data ?

The key thing is that the Company name be included in the data and if the data steward email is in the data as well (or separate data) then it's 1 email tool as well :)

raychase
11 - Bolide

I am attaching a very basic example of mock data.

If Field 1 or Field 2 or Field 3 is empty, I would want the entire row of data to be added to the excel output for that company.  Multiple sub-companies within the same company should be included in the same excel output, but on a different sheet.