Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Excel Input - Not recognizing Sheet Name

JCopland
6 - Meteoroid

I've been working with Alteryx for several years and never had this issue before.

I'm working with a new data source, which produces Excel files (.xlsx) 

The Input Data tool does not recognize the sheet name when I add files from this data source into my Workflow. (I'm downloading the file and then adding to workflow, it isn't a direct connection to the data source).

The excel file has 1 sheet, and it has a name. However, Alteryx doesn't see that sheet (screenshot below - note my Sheet is not called Sheet1)

If I edit the excel file in any way and save the file, Alteryx will recognize it. But I don't want to have to this every time I download an update. 

Has anybody seen this before and have suggestions? Thanks!

2022-04-11_13-12-05.png 

fb653431-1b82-49b0-a2cf-6ba55b34e3eb.png

7 REPLIES 7
TheOC
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

hey @JCopland 

Curious one!

Are you able to attach one of these excel files, so i can try it on my side? Ofcourse, only if its non-confidential data.

Cheers,
TheOC

Bulien
apathetichell
18 - Pollux

My hunch is this relates to excel trust center settings for downloaded xlsx files.

JCopland
6 - Meteoroid

@TheOC  Sadly I can't attach - too confidential :( 

*I attempted to create a version of the file with no confidential data, however editing the file in any way makes it 'readable' by Alteryx...not just editing the sheet name. The plot thickens...

JCopland
6 - Meteoroid

@apathetichell  interesting ... although that would impact all the Excel files I work with I would think? (And I've never seen it before). Will see what I can find in that area though - Thx!

apathetichell
18 - Pollux