Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Example of how to allow user to browse for an Excel file and then load specific worksheet

PabloDanielovich
7 - Meteor

I'm a newbie, and so far I like a lot of things about Alteryx, but I'm missing something... something isn't clicking just yet.  I couldn't find an example that shows how to do this simple task (samples I did find were either too complex or too different from what I'm trying to do. 
All I want at this point is to allow the user to select an excel file (I'm using the File Browse tool with the Arbitrary File Specification of *.xlsx), and then trying to use the Input Data tool to open the sheet named "Master Table" in that file.  The Data Input tool shows the error "A file must be specified".  how do I pass the Path, Filename and Worksheet name to the Data Input tool?

13 REPLIES 13
SeanAdams
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hey Pablo,

@DanM and @TonyM have done some recent how-to guides on bringing in Excel sheet names.   Tony's one is below.

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Knowledge-Base/How-to-Input-Multiple-Sheets-from-Multiple-E...

Dan / Tony - is there a simple solution to getting the list of excel sheets into a drop-down for the user (per Pablo's question)?

PabloDanielovich
7 - Meteor

SeanAdams, thanks for the response.  I think your answer is more complex than necessary.  I'm still missing a piece of

some of very basic information. I just need the user to pick the filename, the worksheet name will always be "Master Table$"

Here's what I'm trying to do: