Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Errors when outputting data

Vyx
7 - Meteor

Hi All,

I am fairly new to Alteryx and I am trying to create a workflow and need some help as I've hit a brick wall.

A little bit of background, we receive an Excel binary report with global data in it and usually I process the data by filtering two columns (product and country of sales as we don't sell every product offered and are only interested in our own country). This spreadsheet is saved in a central location - each of the teams have individual spreadsheets with just their info that uses vlookups to pull the relevant information they need from this central spreadsheet using a unique identifier (Sales ID).  

I am now creating a workflow to avoid having to manually update this every day.

I created the input tool and used a filter tool to filter the data down to the information we need (I used the Browse Tool to check and the number of rows matches what would be expected from the raw data. 

The two problems I have are as follows:

- There is a unique Sales ID - sometimes this appears as purely numeric i.e. 123456 other times as a mix of numeric and letters i.e. SAL123456. Alteryx automatically allocated this as 'Double' so where the Sales ID comes up SAL123456 it inserts a null value - I have tried to use the Select tool to convert the data type to V WString however I still get null values whenever a Sales ID has a mix of numeric and letter characters. Not sure how to fix this!  

- When I try to output the file as a binary file, I receive the following error message:

Error: Output Data (5): DataWrap2OleDb::SendBatch: Microsoft Access Database Engine: Multiple-step OLE DB operation generated errors. Check each OLE DB status value, if available. No work was done. Insert into `Sheet1`(it lists the names of the fields here)