Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Error: InboundNamedPipe GetOverlappedResult: The pipe has been ended-dynamic output

janani_venkat
7 - Meteor

Hi!

I've seen a couple of posts regarding this error but I wasn't really sure if there was a solution

I come up with this error when I try to use render tool with dynamic output (i.e., when I select "Replacing entire path with group" option). Attached is my workflow - what am I doing wrong?

Appreciate your time and help!

Jan

6 REPLIES 6
cpapaioannou
7 - Meteor

I am not experienced with reporting tools, but since noone has yet replied I'll guess that the issue is that in render tool you are choosing to "Replace entire path with Group" but the group is neither path nor filename. Try changing this option to "Append Group to Filename", or "Replace Filename with Group" and you should be OK to start with. 

janani_venkat
7 - Meteor

Hi @cpapaioannou 

Thanks for your reply - however, neither of those options saves my file in dynamic path (while I need to do just that since my folder date keeps changing)

Jan

CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

In my experience, the "Error: InboundNamedPipe GetOverlappedResult: The pipe has been ended" error is one of the non-descript errors that comes up in a number of situations when another, more specific error message isn't available. 

The problem here circles around how that the Render tool and Output tool utilize Excel sheet names in file paths. Spoiler alert: the Render tool doesn't use sheet names in the file path, they have to be worked into the layout.