Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Dynamic Input read

suby
11 - Bolide

Hello All,

How to create a workflow that reads the latest file from the shared directory.

- Scenario

I have two files coming into my shared directory daily but I want to pick one of the files and want to make this dynamic going forward. In the below example

XYZ.xlsx -  04:05:28

ABC.xlsx -  04:05:20

16 REPLIES 16
Pingu
10 - Fireball

Hello,

Use the Directory Tool. Select the Directory and specify .xlsx in your case.

Use a sort tool to sort by creation time.

Use the sample tool get either the first or last row based on how you sorted.

Use the Dynamic Input tool and specify Field: As the value you created with the full path name.

JosephSerpis
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @suby I mocked up a workflow let me know what you think?

suby
11 - Bolide

Thanks for sharing this and I'm quite new to Alteryx and would it be possible to explain me the steps on  what it does and which one applies to my scenario.

Also in my case sometimes the 2 files copied in my shared directory the order of copy might be different in time sometime XYZ can be copied earlier than ABC file and vice versa.

JosephSerpis
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @suby I amended the workflow with comments along the steps.

suby
11 - Bolide

Hello,

Thanks unable to open the file.

Thanks

suby
11 - Bolide

Hello,

Pop up error message.

Failure to Import C:\Users\44130112\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache\IE\JZ9XXCW6\Dynamic_Read_22072020 (4).yxzp.
There was an error opening "C:\Users\44130112\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache\IE\JZ9XXCW6\Dynamic_Read_22072020 (4)\Dynamic_Read_22072020.yxmd":