Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Dynamic Filter and output

Te_Nahom
5 - Atom

Hello community gurus, I'm new to Altreyx and I can't seem to figure out how I can filter a dataset to smaller tables then have an output for each dynamically. I attached an image below to help visualize the dataset. 

The file I'm using is an Excel file with multiple sheets with different schema, 

OBJECTIVE        

==> I want to dynamically separate the dataset per year

==> clean the data accordingly and save

I would like to have a table name '2020', '2019', '2018', '2017' etc...

if I use a filter, I will have to create for each year and I will end up with more than 20 different pipelines. it wouldn't make sense to do it that way as it would affect optimization. I have attached the workflow below. any help would greatly help. Thank you!!

s.PNGamic output. 

5 REPLIES 5
vizAlter
12 - Quasar

Hi @Te_Nahom — Welcome to the community!

Looks that you have created a macro, so can you please attach macro enabled file instead of *yxmd (File Types) and some sample/dummy data?

And, as far as I could understood from your process which you have designed. you need data in separate tabs. If so, then please take a look if this solution (Output in separate tabs) works for you. You need to bring the Output tool to the canvas and configure that.

Let me know if it works or not...

BradWerner
11 - Bolide

Hi @Te_Nahom,

I echo what @vizAlter says but just wanted to add in a resource that was helpful for me:

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Designer-Knowledge-Base/Output-to-multiple-sheets-within-an...

It describes how to do the process that @vizAlter mentioned. Specifically, how to configure the bottom option in the Output tool to output groups of data to separate sheets in one Excel workbook.

BradWerner_0-1600001501266.png

Te_Nahom
5 - Atom

Hello @