Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Dynamic Field names when renaming

Taki
8 - Asteroid

Hi all:

I am new to Alteryx and would appreciate any guidance on the following: I am looking to compare 2 excels where I will have columns consisting of months like Jan and Feb and March and so on. And lets say 1 row for cost and another row for profit. I need to compare if the Jan cost matches from the current to prior Excel so I would also add a column for the match. Since the column can roll off meaning column 1 maybe Jan. this month but next month, column 1 maybe Feb (rolling year). As a result, I would like to make the column name like "Curr_jan" and "Prev_jan" where the Jan can be dynamic as it can change. Same when I add the column for the compare results like "jan_match?".  Thank you in advance for your help.

6 REPLIES 6
fmvizcaino
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @Taki ,

Would you be able to provide a small sample of your datasets and a desired output?

I understood your problem but to build an example for you, it is better to have a dataset similar to yours.

Also, how do I know which month to insert first in your rolling month columns? based on the filename?

Best,

Fernando Vizcaino

estherb47
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @Taki 

Sounds like you are joining one data set with another. In this example, I'd transpose the data from both files so that months are listed down in rows rather than across in columns.

You can then use a join tool, matching on whichever field represents your month, and anything else that needs to match (like the column listing "cost" or "profit"). The order in which the months appear in the data doesn't matter -- the spelling and capitalization do matter.