Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Download Files from Sharepoint 2013

ardsilva
7 - Meteor

Hi All,

I need to download PDF files from a SP site and store it locally using Alteryx. In Sharepoint, I tried to get the UNC path by going to Libraries tab and then click on 'Open in Explorer'. But this gave me a relative path "https://share.xx.net/sites/xxx_xxxxx/Lists/Shared Documents/9.xxxxx/xxxxx" . How do I use this link to download the files using alteryx? Or is there any other better way to do this ?

I am pretty new to Alteryx, so any guidance would be really appreciated.

Thanks

Antony.

23 REPLIES 23
Pyrame
5 - Atom

I can download Excel files from SharePoint without any pb with the location of the file by right clicking on the file and looking at properties. However, for Macros located on SharePoint, that does not work at all. Any ideas?

Reesetrain2
9 - Comet

All,

The easiest way that I have found to download a file from Sharepoint is as follows:

1.Open Sharepoint in Internet Explorer and browse your way to the file

2. Once you are to the file, copy the address

3. Truncate the address to just the sharepoint, i.e https://XXXX.sharepoint.com/sites/

4. Go to My Computer, right click and create Add a Network Location

5. Follow the wizard as you should just use the truncated address when setting up the new Network Location

6. Go to Alteryx and use the Input Data Tool.

7. You will now be able to click on the network location and then subsequently select the correct folders in order to get to the file.

8. Once selected, you are all set!

The other option is to use the Directory Tool

Follow steps 1-5

6. Go to Alteryx  and use the Directory Tool