Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Download Files from Sharepoint 2013

ardsilva
7 - Meteor

Hi All,

I need to download PDF files from a SP site and store it locally using Alteryx. In Sharepoint, I tried to get the UNC path by going to Libraries tab and then click on 'Open in Explorer'. But this gave me a relative path "https://share.xx.net/sites/xxx_xxxxx/Lists/Shared Documents/9.xxxxx/xxxxx" . How do I use this link to download the files using alteryx? Or is there any other better way to do this ?

I am pretty new to Alteryx, so any guidance would be really appreciated.

Thanks

Antony.

23 REPLIES 23
dataMack
12 - Quasar

To open files directly in Alteryx that are in a SP 2013 document library (not items in a list), use a UNC path not a url path.  You also need to change it a bit if you have SSL on you SP2013 site.  It would look something like this:

\\share.xx.net@SSL\DavWWWRoot\sites\xxx_xxxxx\Lists\Shared Documents\9.xxxxx\xxxxx

ardsilva
7 - Meteor

Thanks Jason. This is what I have been trying to do. I will try to get the UNC path from SP administrator and see how it goes.

Thanks

Antony.

keith_ainsworth
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Jason,

How do you get around the authentication requirements?  We are trying to run workflows from the Alteryx server on a schedule so as such the service account is not logged into the domain so there are no credentials to pass.

Keith

casperkeilstrup
5 - Atom

Are there any updates on connecting a sharepoint library to the Alteryx server?

AndrewCrayford
8 - Asteroid

@dataMack Was wondering if you can help me, as i trying to download a file from Sharepoint so i can read it in Alteryx but I am having problems trying to do this, any advise would be gerat