Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.
Alteryx is here to help you solve your biggest data challenges. Read about the new Virtual Solution Center here.

Developing a batch macro

Highlighted
6 - Meteoroid

Hi,

I'm relatively new to the application.  I'm trying to do something that's probably not that complex by fumbling through it, but I've hit a bit of a wall and am hoping somebody might be able to point me in the right direction.  I think I'm fundamentally misunderstanding something, but I can't tell how far off I am.  

So my input is:  

[Group] [Period] [Value]

I want to do ABC classification of Groups by Period.  So if I wanted to just be hacky, I could just just use redundant branches of filters to break it out by period calculate my ABC's and move on to whatever's next.  But since this is something that I could see myself using in the future, I thought I'd try to come up with a better way to do it.  

My expected output would be something like:  

[Group] [Period] [PX_ABC] [PY_ABC] [PZ_ABC]

And yes, I get that based on this I would get some jagged data like:  

[Group] [Period] [PX_ABC] [PY_ABC] [PZ_ABC]

A           X              A

A           Y                              B

But I'll clean it up on the other side.  

So I made out my batch macro here:  (mostly from watching this video:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIAbQGQ_Hkg)

clipboard_image_0.png

The control parameter should be influencing the macro by updating the filter step which should select only the current period in the iteration.  It should also change the output field name later on in the workflow.  

In the actual workflow I feed the macro tool the aggregated data described above and a distinct list of periods.  

So the problem: