Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Determine the geographic center

prravich
7 - Meteor

Hi all,

I have customer geographic data that has latitudes and longitudes and I am looking for a way to find the “Center of Gravity” for this data (i.e., one point which has the access to the most demand).  Can you tell me how to approach this ?

Also , If I decide to have more than one center of gravity ( i.e , 2-3 points to get maximum coverage to demands) what would  be the best way?

I am completely new to Spatial analytics so any examples would be appreciated.

Thanks

7 REPLIES 7
MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@prravich

Here is what you "can" do:

1. CREATE POINTS:  Converts lat/lon to spatial object as "centroid"
  2. POLY-BUILD: Build a convex Hull as a polygon that includes all of your centroids (optionally, you can group and create many polygons).
  3. SPATIAL INFO: Output the Centroid as either (or both) Spatial Object and X & Y fields

All done....

Cheers,

Mark

Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and restart. Order shall return.
Please Subscribe to my youTube channel.
prravich
7 - Meteor

Thank you I tried and it works. That was so simple

I am still unclear on how to determine the second ask. Assume i have 10 customers randomly scattered, what are the three best places to place my store to get good coverage ? I need to create three polygons and find their center, but not sure how to proceed. Any thoughts?

MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus