Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

DateTime Format

sparshpankaj
7 - Meteor

Good evening everyone

Hope everyone's doing well! I am a newbie at Alteryx and I have had a hard time converting Date/Time data into the desired Alteryx format. In my Excel CSV the time column was in custom date/time format which represents the data as shown in screenshot 1. I input the data into Alteryx, which converted it into 1am, 2pm, 4pm and so on as shown in screenshot 2. The objective in mind is to filter the given data according to certain hours in a particular quarter. I have previously used the formula tool and used the right function to separate the date characters to get to a dataset in a particular month range. But I can't do the same for time because length of characters vary. Could any of you please help me in order to convert this time column into military format? Also could anyone provide me tips on how to further my skills in converting date/time objects into Alteryx Accepted formats in varying cases? Thanking everyone in advance, hope to seek a positive response.

sparshpankaj_2-1617657035403.pngsparshpankaj_3-1617657054266.png

8 REPLIES 8
MattBSlalom
11 - Bolide

I'm not quite sure why the value in Alteryx is different from the one shown in Excel since its not a Date/Time datatype in Alteryx.  A sample workbook & workflow would help shed light on this, but if the Excel values are text & they were brought into Alteryx as shown in your first image, the below suggestion should work.  Removing the colon and minutes placeholder (%M) from the below format expression would be needed for the 2nd screenshot's data since the value in Alteryx seems to be modified to lose the minutes.