Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Date formatting

Albert2107
7 - Meteor

Hi All,

I am new in Alteryx and this is just a very basic question. I am trying to calculate the no. of working days between two dates. I am wondering how is the correct format on writing a date in the formula tool? this is what my formula looks like and it doesn't calculate correctly or it errors since the supposedly dates (8/1/2019 and 7/31/2020) are not in date format. 

See image below.

Albert2107_0-1636620495536.png

Warm regards,

Albert

12 REPLIES 12
FláviaB
Alteryx Community Team
Alteryx Community Team

Thank you for your post, @Albert2107. Since this board is meant for new members introductions, you don't get the same visibility as if you post in our Designer Discussions board. I am moving your post there so you can have a proper support. 😉

Flávia Brancato
Luke_C
17 - Castor

Hi @Albert2107 

You'll want to make sure that your date fields are set as a 'date' data type. They would look like '2021-01-21'. Your formula isn't working because Alteryx won't recognize mm/dd/yyyy as dates. You can use a datetime tool or datetimeparse function to convert the data. 

Once converted to proper dates, you would type them into the formula tool the same way, in quotes: '2021-01-21'. 

If you have some sample data I can mock something up.

Kamran1991
11 - Bolide

Hi @Albert2107,

The input dates must be recognizable by Alteryx then you can calculate the number days between two date by using this formula.

DateTimeDiff([End date],[Start date],"Days")

Albert2107
7 - Meteor

Hi @Luke_C