Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Data clean td HTML, REPLACECHAR

LindaD
7 - Meteor

Can anyone help on how to get rid of these <td>. I am not familiar with Regex how would I use that. But will take anything that will help. I AM NEW to all of this..UPDATE I added the workflow

Alteryx1.JPG

16 REPLIES 16
LindaD
7 - Meteor

Sure I'm sorry, does this help?

echuong1
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

You can actually make this even simpler using the text to columns. Use both < and > as delimiters.

echuong1_0-1606945745032.png

joshbennett
11 - Bolide
11 - Bolide

@echuong1 has already given some great recommendations, so while I may not be able to add much here, I figured I could share a quick method I use to get rid of such unwanted characters with a single formula expression. It may seem more complex initially than it actually is, so I will try to add some contextual explanation as well - but it is a very useful method that you can rinse and repeat quickly on other datasets as applicable once you've used it once or twice.

Using the Multi-Field Formula, you can use the REGEX_REPLACE and REPLACE functions (see here for syntax help) to accomplish what you need quickly and easily. After selecting each of your target fields within the tool's configuration, you can chain these expressions together to accomplish what you want with a single formula.

1. First, use REGEX_REPLACE with '[[:punct:]]' specified as the pattern parameter, as shown below. '[[:punct:]]' is what is referred to in RegEx as a "POSIX Bracket Expression", which you can read more about here if desired (though not required for your purpose). You can essentially think of this as a variable or placeholder that looks for any punctuation characters, all of which you are trying to remove in your use case. Thus, you can start with the following expression: