Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Data Padding

bfoll
6 - Meteoroid

Hello,

I'm brand new to Alteryx and have spent the last couple of hours going through the intro paint by numbers and trying to solve what I believe is a basic data prep use case. I'm not used to the tool and am having trouble googling as I'm not sure what I should be look at in the tool. I'll explain my use case and I would appreciate it if anyone could be kind enough to point me to some knowledge articles that would be relevant! 

I have two data sets that contain two different activities a person performs. Each data set only have a record for the persons NAME if they've performed that activity. I need to pad the data so that each dataset has rows for every person and has a record for three types of activity they could perform (we'll call it A, B and C) and if that person didn't perform that activity yet, it'd be blank. 

So if I have 3 people (Sarah, Mike, Tiffany):

Current Data:

PersonActivityCount
SarahA1
SarahB1
SarahC1
MikeA1

Desired Output:

PersonActivityCount
SarahA1
SarahB1
SarahC1
Mike

A

Mike

B

MikeC0
TiffanyA0

Tiffany

B0

Tiffany

C0

I saw on article mention a constant formula but that looked like it was only allowing me to insert one item. I then saw the "Generate Rows" icon but similarly couldn't figure out how it wanted the formula set up. I'm sure this is a very novice question but I appreciate any direction as I get my footing. :) 

Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
Joe_Mako
12 - Quasar