Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Data Manipulation - break list of known fields by2byte chunks, convert, concatenate field

sjgittins
5 - Atom

Hi all! First post.  I'm relatively new to Alteryx and have found most solutions to my issues reading thru this very helpful community so I have a unique (unable to find anything remotely close) issue that I need help with:

Have hundreds of thousands of rows of data with basic information and a large single cell of data that contains many parameters.   Once this large field is broken up into the corresponding 50+ parameters into their own new column, these need to be broken up into 2 byte chunks since the data in each column is a 2d array with different lengths (happen to be even numbers).  Each cell of the array needs to be converted from HEX to Decimal, and concatenated back into a single cell, as a 2d array.

The current path takes a single RegEx and splits them into columns based off the location of bytes in the large field.  Then the tedious part begins, I utilize a REgEx tokenize step with (.{2}) as the regex with split to rows, followed by a multi field formula to convert each field to decimal, and then a summary tool to concatenate back into a single cell.   (see attached workflow)

Currently, I have to maintain  50+ join blocks, 50+ regex tokenize blocks, 50+ multifield formula blocks, and 50+ summarize blocks which is a nightmare of spaghetti lines.  I spent days tediously joining all 50 of these toolbox grouped steps and finally have it working but at immense frustration and stressful tedious work.