Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Creating a KNN imputer for Alteryx using Python and Sci-Kit Learn

amir_alteryx_2021
6 - Meteoroid

Hello everyone,

I am in a bit of a dilemma. Firstly I am new to the python tool and secondly, I am not sure how it works aside from it looking like a normal Jupyter notebook.

My objective is simply to impute missing data using the following prebuilt function from sci-kit learn. This would be an alternative to the imputation via mean, mode, or median. I have had positive results using this: 

https://machinelearningmastery.com/knn-imputation-for-missing-values-in-machine-learning/

So here is what I can do in Jupyter:

• Load data frame from a CSV(using the Titanic dataset)
  • run a function that essentially gives me the variants of odd neighbors that then are collected in a pandas data frame and then we get the average of the Root Mean Squared Error. That is a float. We then round it up to the nearest whole number. We use that number as our best choice for the nearest neighbor and proceed to impute.
  • once imputed the nans are changed and we can merge back with the rest of the dataset that would have all the nonnumerical categorical data. 

What I have gotten done in Alteryx:

• Modified the script to change the data frame loading to the incoming data from Alteryx
  • Changed the data types and field selection
  • created the final data frame and written it to the output

So far no cigar. It seems that it does not essentially run the notebook every time I run the notebook which I am not sure of. I guess my desire is to ultimately make this into something that could be used the same way as the impute tool. I have included the jupyter notebook and the workflow.