Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Creating MoM, YoY and YTD calculations for multiple KPIs

BigDataGeek
8 - Asteroid

Hey All,

I'm new to Alteryx, especially with creating and aggregating data within it, so bare with me.

I've got an excel data set I'd like to develop MoM, YoY and YTD calculations for each row of data.

My goals:

- Create these calculations for all KPI columns (median sale price, median listing price, etc)

- Add field for 'Prior Month', 'Prior Year Month' and 'YTD' that display the actual numbers from those field.

- Add fields for 'MoM', 'YoY, and 'YTD' as a percentage change. 

- The data is either ZIP code level OR MSA level.  If no Zip, then its already aggregated to MSA

- Same applies for Year, except we compare it to the prior year, same month and develop a percentage change. 

- For YTD, its YTD average / YTD Average (given same months) of year prior.

I've attached the data in a workflow for review.  Again, I'm new to this all, but willing to work to understand it all if someone could help with some best practices in this area and how to.

Thanks!

I'm trying to avoid calculating these in Tableau to increase dashboard speeds. 

15 REPLIES 15
JoshKushner
12 - Quasar

Hi Shap,

In the future you'll want to export your workbook otherwise we can't see the data you're reading.

Export:

export.PNG

Without knowing your data set I can't be specific, but the general calculations you're looking for are below:

(I've used random sample data)

Sample Data:

input data.PNG

Mean Price (Sale, Listing, etc.):

Use the summarize tool

sum.PNGsum r.PNG

Prior Month:

Use the multi-row formula tool

multi row.PNG

multi row r.PNG

Prior Year Month: