Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Creating MoM, YoY and YTD calculations for multiple KPIs

BigDataGeek
8 - Asteroid

Hey All,

I'm new to Alteryx, especially with creating and aggregating data within it, so bare with me.

I've got an excel data set I'd like to develop MoM, YoY and YTD calculations for each row of data.

My goals:

- Create these calculations for all KPI columns (median sale price, median listing price, etc)

- Add field for 'Prior Month', 'Prior Year Month' and 'YTD' that display the actual numbers from those field.

- Add fields for 'MoM', 'YoY, and 'YTD' as a percentage change. 

- The data is either ZIP code level OR MSA level.  If no Zip, then its already aggregated to MSA

- Same applies for Year, except we compare it to the prior year, same month and develop a percentage change. 

- For YTD, its YTD average / YTD Average (given same months) of year prior.

I've attached the data in a workflow for review.  Again, I'm new to this all, but willing to work to understand it all if someone could help with some best practices in this area and how to.

Thanks!

I'm trying to avoid calculating these in Tableau to increase dashboard speeds. 

15 REPLIES 15
BigDataGeek
8 - Asteroid

Hi Josh,

There was an update to the formatting of the input data.  I've attempted to understand the steps outline here and modify the existing workbook with the additional data columns (State, City).   Right now they are not populated with data, but will be in the future.  

Few questions:

• Would you mind spot checking this to see if I have it set up right?  I didn't have it run results on them yet, due to lack of data.  When I do, I just add to the cross tabs?