Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Creating Error Log for Export

plundgren
6 - Meteoroid

I'm brand new to Alteryx after a stint in SQL development. My question is this: I will be working to create error reports based on nightly workflows, and I could use some advice on how to best send error/conversion messages to an external file. This file would ideally be part of an existing workflow, and would be emailed automatically to specific recipients. I know how to create a report, and how to email it. My stumbling block is how to export the error messages into the report. I would appreciate any help.

Thanks.

10 REPLIES 10
CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Check out the Events available on the Workflow Configuration window. One of the events you can configure is to send an email after the workflow has finished running that contains the output log of that workflow.

Event Email Log.png

plundgren
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks for the reply--that'll definitely help.

RodLight
8 - Asteroid

@CharlieS 

Any thoughts on how to get the log info if you have a web email service like Gmail or Hotmail that requires TLS and can't be configure in the Email Event process?

CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

@RodLight 

In that case, you'd probably need to rely on the Logging Directory (configured in System Settings > Engine > General) and return what you need from there. 

Also, past email discussions have lead me to the Inviso macro pack for gmail in Alteryx:

https://inviso.dk/blog/post/inviso-macro-pack-gmail-integration-

https://inviso.dk/blog/post/alteryx-and-google-s-oauth2-a-macro-to-solve-your-problems

I hope this helps get you where you need to go.

RodLight
8 - Asteroid

@CharlieS 

Thanks for the reply.