Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Create (standard ) macro for different fields but same tools used

Shaina1
8 - Asteroid

Hi, 

I'm fairly new at using macros-I have a workflow in which I know I have to use a same set of tools multiple times-the only difference being that 2 of the fields need to get substituted. I'm attaching my workflow for reference as well as the excel sheet separately. Currently, my workflow is using the fields which are marked in yellow in input file along with the other fields (except those which are marked in orange). I need to repeat the same process for the fields which are marked in orange along with the other fields (in this case exclude those which were used earlier-aka the yellow fields). 

I believe a standard macro should cover this-I know I could probably repeat the same process for the orange fields and then package it up as a macro as well as package up the yellow fields-that would essentially create two standard macros-but was wondering if there is a way using a single standard macro to reference the repeatable process. 

I don't see the point in using batch macro as I don't want to stack one over the other-i want two sep workstreams -one which I created in workflow containing period and FTE Calculation denom(yellow fields )-the other one should contain Field 2 Value and FTE Calculation denom field value 2. These 2 workstreams I will then join together using a join tool. 

3 REPLIES 3
JoshuaB
Alteryx Product Evangelist

Hey @Shaina1 !

There are a couple ways to think about this when it comes to building a macro.